11.

“Growing up, my neighbor down the hall kept a window garden. Pretty standard botanical fare–tulips and marigolds and the like–but I learned all their needs, their peccadillos, and kept them company when she’d leave for family trips. Once, during a morning watering, my fingers unearthed a cache of sterling silver rings, then quickly folded them back into the soil. She often asked why I stopped coming by to check on their blooms, never realizing her hand in reshaping what beauty meant to me.”

grh

Leave a Reply

